/Lamb & Hayward Masterworks 2014


Tom Woods conductor
Mikhail Voskresensky piano
Debussy Prélude à l'après midi d'un faune
Ravel Piano Concerto for the Left Hand D major
Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte
Messiaen L'Ascension: 4 Méditations Symphoniques
Saturday 23rd August, 7.30pm
Charles Luney Auditorium
Ticket Prices:

Adult A Reserve $48.50
Senior A Reserve $43.50
Adult B Reserve $38.50
Senior B Reserve $33.50
Child $18.50
view seating plan

Attention all francophiles - this concert programme celebrates the musical mastery of some of France's most acclaimed composers. 

Credited as the starting point of modern music, Debussy's Prélude à l'après midi d'un faune beautifully illustrates an idyllic woodland scene. 

Two works by Ravel complete this impressionist double bill, Pavane pour une infante défunte and his Piano Concerto for the Left Hand. Internationally acclaimed musician, Mikhail Voskrensensky is one of Russia's leading pianists and has been the winner of many prestigious international piano competitions including the Van Cliburn. He has been honoured with many accolades including the Merited Artist of Russia and the People's Artist of Russia Award.

Influenced by Debussy and Ravel, Olivier Messiaen's compositions also reflect his lifelong interest in ornithology and Indonesian gamelan. L'Ascension, described by the composer as four meditations for orchestra, testifies to the depth of his Catholic faith and is a reflection of Christ's Feast of the Ascension.

Originally written for organ, the orchestral score is a glorious and jubilant finale to our concert français. 

Concert Dates
  • Saturday 23 August 2014, 7:30pm

Support your orchestra

The CSO is proud to be the orchestra of this community. Your donation will ensure we continue to bring orchestral music to Christchurch. There are a variety of ways you can donate to the orchestra, click on the link to find out how.

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up to our newsletter to receive updates and offers!